PSV U21 climb to fourth place after emphatic win in Volendam

PSV U21 climb to fourth place after emphatic win in Volendam

PSV U21 climbed to fourth place in their league after registering an emphatic 3-0 victory against FC Volendam in the Kras Stadion on Friday night, courtesy of goals from Bart Ramselaar, Zakaria Aboukhlal and Joël Piroe.

A fine strike from Bart Ramselaar
PSV U21 started the game well and Joël  Piroe had a chance to open the scoring in the first minute but Van Stappenhorst made a save to deny him. The FC Volendam keeper also prevented Bart Ramselaar from breaking the deadlock early on, before spreading himself in an effort to thwart Jordan Teze. The hosts had their moments as well, with Boy Deul hitting the bar. PSV were rewarded for their attacking style of play on thirteen minutes when Bart Ramselaar unleashed a long-range shot that hit the inside of the post before it crossed the line: 0-1. Justin Lonwijk had a chance to double the lead but the FC Volendam keeper got a touch to his chip. FC Volendam had two good chances to level the score on the stroke of half-time but their striker rattled the post and PSV U21 custodian Mike van de Meulenhof made a reflex save. HT: 0-1

Emphatic victory
Dennis Haar’s men went in search of a second goal after the break and came close on a number of occasions. Lennerd Daneels fired over the bar, while Joël Piroe sent an effort just wide of the post. PSV U21 took a two-goal advantage in the 58th minute, when Justin Lonwijk put Zakaria Aboukhlal clean through with a lovely backheel pass and the latter finished with aplomb: 0-2. Joël Piroe made it three in the 62nd minute, slotting home from the edge of the penalty area: 0-3. FC Volendam hit the woodwork for the third time, while Aboukhlal and Piroe had chances to put the icing cake but failed to take them. PSV U21 will be back in league action on Friday, 19 April when they make a trip to Deventer to face Go Ahead Eagles.

Van de Meulenhof, Teze (84/Schoonbrood), Daverveld, Soulas, Theunissen, Rigo, Ramselaar, Lonwijk (71/Frey), Aboukhlal, Piroe, Daneels (71/Catic)