Cup Final | PSV win cup final after bizarre penalty shoot-out

Cup Final | PSV win cup final after bizarre penalty shoot-out

PSV have won their 50th prize in the club’s history after they beat Ajax in the KNVB Cup final following a bizarre penalty shoot-out. Edson Alvarez saw his penalty saved by Joel Drommel, while Fabio Silva converted the decisive spot-kick to send his team mates and PSV fans into raptures.

The Cup final started a few minutes later due to fireworks. The first half was incident-packed with several bust-ups and many arguments. There was plenty of goal threat but neither team created chances of any note. When PSV took control in the latter stages of the first period, Ajax opened the scoring in the 43rd minute. Steven Bergwijn sent in a hard, low cross that was deflected by Jarrad Branthwaite for an own goal.

Just like last year, PSV were trailing 1-0 against Ajax in the Cup final, but they were back on level terms in the 67th minute. Xavi Simons delivered a cross and substitute Thorgan Hazard slotted home: 1-1. No more goals were scored, so the match went into extra-time.

 Extra time
PSV got the first chance in extra time, when Joey Veerman  superbly took a free kick but no player was on hand to connect. PSV were in control and substitute Fábio Silva had a fine opportunity but saw his effort blocked. The Portuguese striker kept his calm when he stepped up to convert his spot kick and PSV lifted the KNVB Cup, just like they did last season.

 Tadic I, Brobbey O, Timber O, Concenciao I, Alvarez O.
Hazard I, Ramalho O, Sangaré O, El Ghazi I, Silva I.

 Drommel, Teze (76’ Mwene), Ramalho, Branthwaite, Van Aanholt; Sangaré, Veerman, Til (59’ Hazard); Bakayoko (59’ El Ghazi), De Jong (105’ Silva), Xavi (98’ Gutiérrez).