Bouma, Strootman and Willems named in final 23-man squad for Euro 2012

26 mei 2012 18:00
Lens has been left out . Lens has been left out .
Jeremain Lens is one of four players that Bert van Marwijk has left out of his final 23-man Holland squad for Euro 2012. Wilfred Bouma, Kevin Strootman, Jetro Willems and Mark van Bommel, who has left AC Milan for PSV, have all been included in the final squad that will travel Krakau on 4 June.

‘Heads high’
“I’ve just spoken extensively with the four players that have not made the final cut. They were entitled to that after a job well-done. I believe they can hold their heads high as they leave the training camp”, explained Netherlands coach Bert van Marwijk. Netherlands face Bulgaria at the Amsterdam Arena tonight, with a 20.00 kick-off.

Netherlands squad:
Ibrahim Afellay (Barcelona), Mark van Bommel (AC Milan), Kahlid Boulahrouz (VfB Stuttgart), Wilfred Bouma (PSV), John Heitinga (Everton), Klaas Jan Huntelaar (Schalke’04), Luuk de Jong (FC Twente), Nigel de Jong (Manchester City), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Dirk Kuyt (Liverpool), Joris Mathijsen (Málaga), Luciano Narsingh (sc Heerenveen), Robin van Persie (Arsenal), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Stijn Schaars (Sporting), Wesley Sneijder (Inter), Maarten Stekelenburg (AS Roma), Kevin Strootman (PSV), Rafael van der Vaart (Tottenham Hotspur), Ron Vlaar (Feyenoord), Michel Vorm (Swansea City), Gregory van der Wiel (Ajax) and Jetro Willems (PSV).


PSV Partners